Sunday, September 6, 2015

Travel blog: Richmond! ~9.6.15

Hello again! My, I'm really posting a lot today, aren't I?

Let's see... Richmond is a pretty mellow town. The people are kind and generous and don't really care if you're houseless. One woman at Country Club Vista gave us a new water jug. Spanging is decent in the shopping center with the Arco, on Richmond Pkwy and Atlas. On Saturday, we made about $30 in an hour. Sunday was a bit slower, but we did get enough to get me a new pakpak just like Loki's except black and red ♥ Most excellent.

Not a lot of other houseless people, but the ones we have encountered have greeted us in a friendly manner and one gave me some money for food. There's a Walmart within walking distance of the Arco shopping center. Unfortunately, most people in this shopping center and in this city in general happen to live here, so getting a ride out is not really a possibility. We're thinking of using the Amtrak or combined bus and cab services to get elsewhere from here.

Here are some pictures of our time in Richmond so far:


This is a picture I sent Makayla to prove that I was where I said I was. The next three are pictures of the surrounding area, which I also sent her.




Those were all taken at the Richmond Marina Bay.


This was the first picture I took of the Bay Trail, which I frequently compared to Google Maps to make sure we were going the right direction.






Loki let me ride in the shopping cart when my legs got too tired. I didn't know it then, but I was suffering from heat exhaustion from the previous day. I took a few candids of him.


End of the Bay Trail, bit of a disappointment as we got stuck in the middle of nowhere and no-one would pick us up.




Beautiful view of the coast. I took these pictures as we were walking along the highway.



I saw a memorial with a pretty angel.



Took out my travel braids because I thought that having hair similar to Loki's was part of what was preventing us from getting a ride. I look exhausted, but much more innocent in these pictures.



This graffiti is from when I was in the shopping cart.


This is my new pakpak and I love it ♥

Travel Blog: Berkeley

Good afternoon, readers! I hope you all weren't too put off by the drama I was posting earlier.

A few days ago, we went from San Jose to Berkeley on the BART. It was pretty nice, though I did get off at the wrong stop and then Loki and I played train tag for a bit before he was able to get to a pay phone and call me. We spent two nights in Berkeley. The first night, we slept on the sidewalk and the second night, we slept under a bridge.

The houseless community there is very kind and mellow. One spanger gave me two pieces of vegetarian pizza, which I enjoyed very much, and they didn't make any fuss at all about me sleeping on their signs. I gave someone my calligraphy ink and Loki gave them our tent, since just using our sleeping bags and maybe some cardboard is a lot less conspicuous than sleeping in a tent.

The housed community and law enforcement did not care about us sleeping on the sidewalk. No-one bothered us at all; it's a very mind-your-own business town, though they will probably give you help if you ask for it. We did not do any spanging, nor did we have any luck trying to catch a ride, so on the second day, we decided to just walk the Bay Trail up to Richmond... where we figured out that we could have just taken the BART to the end of the line.

Here are some lovely pictures of our time in Berkeley:


Pictured: gyngyn with travel braids ("ragdoll" extensions), homemade hat from 2012, and Oscar the Grouch plushie given to the gyn by her big sister.



This is a picture I used to update Makody on my location. I scouted out Strawberry Creek Park and deemed it suitable, but Loki did not have the energy to go all the way there, so...


instead, we camped on the sidewalk next to Frank's Auto Service. No fucks were given and we were highly, highly visible, I think if Cody had actually been there, and if he actually was an ex-Navy vet, he would have walked round the building and seen us to the side (rather than at the front, as he probably expected.) Tactical intuition? Lol what's that?


This is some graffiti we saw as we were walking down University Ave from the Bart station. It's quite artistic.






Some pictures of the lovely scenic view from the Bay Trail in Berkeley and Albany.

Saturday, September 5, 2015

The Job Pickup, part 5 (9-5-15)

Previously, on The Job Pickup: Cody told Makayla he'd picked Loki and me up! I told Makayla we were at the Richmond Marina Bay and sent photographic evidence! Makayla went to go find Cody! Let's see how that went....

  • SIGYN Did you manage to find him yet?

SEPTEMBER 5, 2015
10.46 AM

MAKAYLA
Ok I ain’t found him
I found his truck

ME
And he wasn’t in it? O.o
We reached the end of the bay trail, Richmond Pkwy & Goodrick Ave. No luck hitching a ride so far, though.

MAKAYLA, 1.03 PM
I’m still hi tong him

ME
???

MAKAYLA, 1.55 PM
I found his truck

ME
Yes, you told me that, but the other message I didn’t understand.

MAKAYLA
I can’t find him

ME
Oh

MAKAYLA
Yeah

ME (completely fucking lost patience), 2.09 PM
We just walked all around Richmond trying to get a ride, walked in almost a full, big giant circle, before finally reaching a gas station so we could take care of nature calls and refill our water, almost out of food rations, in a town where no one even asks “are you okay” if they see you collapse

MAKAYLA
Oh

ME
Inhaler’s almost empty, completely stranded with no help, but gosh, I surely do hope your friend didn’t run afoul of some hobos in Berkeley.

MAKAYLA, 2.30 PM
I’m scared the truck was destroyed

ME
*shrug*

MAKAYLA
Um

ME
Ffs, file a missing persons report. He’s been gone more than 48 hours, was last seen in that city, and his (colour, make, model) truck was destroyed. Cops’ll figure it out from there, not much a civvie can do.

MAKAYLA
I’m not civvie

ME
Then do something useful. We’ve got our own drama to worry about.

MAKAYLA
Well sorry I wasn’t giving drama I was just speaking but whatever

ME

Shhh, we’re still stranded in bumblefuck with no way out.

Friday, September 4, 2015

The Job Pickup, part 4 (9-4-15)

At some point on the 3rd, I’d turned off my phone to conserve battery because I didn’t know when we’d be able to charge it again. I turned it on at 10:37 AM on SEPTEMBER 4, 2015 and…

MAKAYLA
Where you guys at?
(10.44 AM) Sigyn

ME
Walking to Richmond, Cody never showed.

Turned my phone off again, then turned it on at 12.23 PM and…

MAKAYLA
We thought y’all got a room

(YES, OKAY, YOU THINK WE GOT A ROOM, WITH ALL ZERO DOLLARS THAT WE TOLD YOU WE HAD?? THAT'S VERY PLAUSIBLE.)

Hello
I’m on my way up

ME
We’re at the Richmond marina.

MAKAYLA
What?! He called yesterday and said y’all were in the truck on your way back

ME
Trying to send you a selfie of me at the marina
(12.36 PM) Tbh I think he got frustrated and gave up chasing us, then told you we were there so you wouldn’t worry

MAKAYLA
He said he was loading y’all up

ME
No, we never saw him.
We spent the day trying to hitch a ride out of state, then gave up and crashed under a bridge by the interstate…

MAKAYLA
That’s what he said yesterday he hasn’t come home yet
I’m packing and I’ll be on my way

ME
Woman, you’re not coming to Richmond, we’ll be gone before you get here, we’re only staying long enough to charge my phone and we’ll be on our feet again.
I tried to send you some pics of where we are in the meantime through Messenger but my phone is being a derp.
Check Facebook Messenger, the pics went through.

Now I'll take you to the conversation that took place on Facebook Messenger.

Sigyn Wisch


Makayla Marie, 12.55 PM
,I'm on my way

Sigyn Wisch


I'm giving you fair warning that we will probably not be here by the time you get here.
I mean, we literally just stopped here to charge our phone.

1:06pm
Makayla Marie
I'll manage
I need to do d codu

Sigyn Wisch
What?

Makayla Marie
I need to find cody

Sigyn Wisch
Okay. He hasn't contacted us at all since yesterday early afternoon

Makayla Marie
Same here he said he was loading y'all up a d haven't herd since

Facebook Messenger stopped working for me, so I switched back to texting.

ME
(1.14 PM) I want to know who he’s got, since it blatantly isn’t us.

MAKAYLA
I’m worried

ME
Yeah, I mean, there’s a fair few people who vaguely resemble Loki, and if Cody picked up some random guy with dreads and a white chick, they might not be on the up and up.

MAKAYLA
May e

ME
Well, he’s ex-navy, right? He’s probably fine. We got a good look at the people in Berkeley and they’re pretty harmless.

MAKAYLA
Idk

ME (losing patience with Makayla’s insistence on panicking over EVERYTHING and don’t you dare accuse me of being ableist, because I suffer from anxiety and a hodgepodge of less relevant disorders)
Seriously, they’re frail as fuck. If he really is a vet and picked up the wrong people, he’ll be fine.

MAKAYLA
I hope

ME, 2.01 PM
Last message I sent him was round 10:40 yesterday morning, sorry, not early afternoon. It said: “Okay. We are at Sixth & University, flying a sign in front of Corepower Yoga.” Then about an hour later, Loki moved us to a back alley, had me rest, and went for a cart for our stuff. We wound up by Gilman & Eastshore, stayed there for the night under a bridge, and then left Berkeley in the morning.
(2.10 PM) You get any of that?
(2.51 PM) Makayla?

MAKAYLA
Driving

ME, 3.34 PM
Leaving Marina Bay

(6.50 PM) Hope you find him okay. We’re turning in for the day, at Atchison Park in Richmond.

Thursday, September 3, 2015

The Job Pickup, part 3 (9-3-15)

Last time, on The Job Pickup:

SIGYN
Okay. We are camped out by an auto shop, ironically, with luggage and everything.
University & Chestnut, Berkeley. It's up to Loki what happens if Cody doesn't show by morning, so.

JOSEPH
Well I texted no response. I don't want to wake kaylee over this he's probably driving
He don't text and drive

1:20am
SIGYN
Makes sense.

Meanwhile, 
1.20 AM

ME
Hey Cody, hope everything got fixed all right. You’re probably on your way driving, but Joseph said you had been texting me and I didn’t receiver anything, so if you can, please let me know when you get this.

SIGYN (to "Joseph")
Quick question: is Cody's truck white with a raised bed?

DUN DUN DUNNNNNN

September 3
9:59am
Makayla Marie
Yes it is

10:02am
Sigyn Wisch
Well, it's too bad I didn't know that last night or I would have woken Loki up to go across the street and investigate with me. There was an impatient looking man dressed in light blue just pacing that corner. I figured if it was Cody, he'd thoroughly search the area. We didn't move from where we last said we were and no one approached us. He didn't text me to tell me he was there, and as a woman I'm not approaching an unknown man alone.
Oh he just texted me, let’s see what he said


CODY, 10.01 AM
I just got your message. I was looking for yall I had to stop and sleep. I was texting yall contuiously

ME
Didn’t get anything past “She’s been texting me. I’m fixing my truck at the moment” at 9.02.
Currently on University Avenue by the on ramp. Loki is scouting the area and I’m watching our stuff.

CODY
Ok I was there last night

ME
I saw a man in light blue by a white truck last night, but I was afraid to go across the street and ask if it was you without waking Loki up.
I’m terribly sorry, I swear we’re not trying to waste your time.

Okay. We are at Sixth & University, flying a sign in front of Corepower Yoga.

...and no-one has heard from Cody since. Let's see how the rest of the conversation with Makayla went, eh?

Makayla Marie
What did his outfit look like

Sigyn Wisch
Light blue, that's all I could see. Kind of like a uniform.

Makayla Marie
 Yep

Sigyn Wisch
Damn it. Well why didn't he come across the street and look round the building? I guarantee he would have seen us if he had.

Makayla Marie
Hes cody

That’s not a very good excuse. A man with Naval training should have the tactical intuition to investigate the entire area around a building where his contact is meant to meet him, rather than just stand across the street pacing and looking impatient, ESPECIALLY at 1 or 2 in the morning when a person is unlikely to be awake and a woman is unlikely to go across the street to approach a strange man.

Sigyn Wisch
Well, I texted him and told him where we are right now. Loki says we are leaving it up to fate, either Cody finds us (which is easy, just drive down university ave till he hits sixth and we can't be missed) or someone picks us up and we head out of state

Makayla Marie
I'll talk to him.  He should be there

Sigyn Wisch
At sixth and university? Great. Then he can't miss us. Guy in black with dreads holding a sign, girl with dreads sitting by red luggage.

Sigyn Wisch
Fuck Loki wants to move again will update

Makayla Marie
Ok sorry slow replays on my side but I'm sick and trying to work

Sigyn Wisch
Loki keeps moving us trying to find a ride. He's convinced that No-one is actually coming to find us, and there's really no talking him out of it.

11:01am
Makayla Marie
smack him

That seems a bit uncalled-for. After all, Loki isn’t the incompetent sock here.

Sigyn Wisch
Nope, not advocating violence against my husband.

7:07pm
Makayla Marie
IM SO EXCITED
I'm making dinner for y'all Cody said y'all will be here at 9ish hope that ain't to late


WAIT, WHAT?!

Wednesday, September 2, 2015

The Job Pickup, part 2 (9-2-15)

Loki said he was about 95% convinced that this was all fake, but mayyyybe give them another chance to prove that they're real. I kept Makayla and "Cody" pretty well updated on where I was. 

SEPTEMBER 2, 2015

ME, 4.00 AM
What’s a cummins?
Sorry about the odd hour. Fucking campmate woke us up babbling at Loki & I can’t get back to sleep.

CODY, 12.06 PM
It’s a big truck
I am at the N A P A store right now and I should get her running in about an hour.

ME, 12.36 PM
Okay. We are by Branham library.

CODY
I’ll have to get mapquest

ME
Cross street is Monterey & Branham, zip 95111
(1.04 PM) Hey, Loki wants to know if you could send us a picture of yourself so we’ll recognise you when you come pick us up.
(1.46 PM) Cody?

CODY, 2.11 PM
Driving

ME
ETA?

CODY
Leaving baco message Kay she has eta

So I did message Makayla.

September 2
2:15pm
Sigyn Wisch
ETA?

Makayla Marie
Yes leaving Bakersfield well just left so I'm estamating 9ish with traffic
Maybe sooner

Sigyn Wisch
Cops are on our butt about illegal camping, Loki's pushing to leave for Berkeley asap

Makayla Marie
Well go I'll redirect him

3:11pm
Sigyn Wisch
Tyvm

Makayla Marie
No problem I'll try and rush him but the Cummins didn't sound good even after we fixed her

5:41pm
Sigyn Wisch
Tagging you in updates for where we're at. Letting Loki take point.

Makayla Marie
Good

7:52pm
Sigyn Wisch
In the parking lot of a 99¢ store on university st in North Berkeley.

8:16pm
Makayla Marie
Ok I'll tell him he hasn't messaged

Sigyn Wisch
Actually
Can you tell him we're at strawberry Fields park? That's where we're headed to wait.

Makayla Marie
Ok I'll text him I know he hit Mo and has to hit Napa store against

Sigyn Wisch
Wait what?

Makayla Marie
I told him the fulies weren't ready

Sigyn Wisch
Wait but what's mo?
Okay it's strawberry creek park on Alston

Makayla Marie
Modesto
Ok

Sigyn Wisch
I tagged you in a picture of the park sign.

Makayla Marie
Lol

Sigyn Wisch
Street name is Allston, I think. Near university St and near bonar St.

8:48pm
Sigyn Wisch
Fuck.
Sorry. Loki couldn't make it all the way so we are on University & Chestnut
If he's in Modesto, he's only about two hours away, I'd estimate. Well, then I guess we will see him before the night's end!

Makayla Marie
Ok

ME, 8.50 PM
Hi, Cody, we’re at University & Chestnut by a place called Frank’s Auto Service in Berkeley. I’ve been updating Kaylee but this is the final place we are resting tonight.

CODY, 9.02 PM
She’s been texting me. I’m fixing my truck at the moment

ME
Right-o, then. Best of luck!

9:02pm
Sigyn Wisch
Just texted him letting him know where we are.

Makayla Marie

Ok

11:21pm
Makayla Marie
This is Joseph.  Kaylee fell asleep. We talked to Cody and he said he's texting y'all

Hi, Joseph! Why are you talking to me through another person’s Facebook account… while they’re asleep?

12:18am
Sigyn Wisch
Not since 9

Makayla Marie
Well he called us and told us so she could go to sleep she was up all night fixing that junk of crap for yall

Sigyn Wisch
Sweet of her, but I still didn't get anything from Cody since about 9 tonight
Meanwhile we are literally wrapped up in sleeping bags on the bloody sidewalk in front of God and everyone, so hopefully my texts start functioning properly soon.

Makayla Marie
Ill message him again he was supposed to get there at 1ish because of the delay on the fulies

Sigyn Wisch
Okay. We are camped out by an auto shop, ironically, with luggage and everything.
University & Chestnut, Berkeley. It's up to Loki what happens if Cody doesn't show by morning, so.

Makayla Marie
Well I texted no response. I don't want to wake kaylee over this he's probably driving
He don't text and drive

1:20am
Sigyn Wisch
Makes sense.

Sigyn Wisch
Quick question: is Cody's truck white with a raised bed?

DUN DUN DUNNNNNN

Tuesday, September 1, 2015

The Job Pickup, part 1 (8-31 + 9-1-15)

Assuming you've been following the Job Interview posts, this is part of what happened afterwards.

8/31, 9:53pm
Sigyn Wisch
Okay. What are you going to do to take care of yourself?

Makayla Marie
Idk

Sigyn Wisch
Well, you'd better think of something. We lea\/e town wednesday & I'm not sure how much internet access I'll have.
Cody never got back to us, so.

Makayla Marie
Cody called yall
I was with him

Sigyn Wisch
When?

Makayla Marie
Friday y'all didn't answer
He called 4 timea

Sigyn Wisch
Did he lea\/e a message?

Makayla Marie
I think 2

Sigyn Wisch
Goddamn phone. I'll check in the morning; Loki has the phone right now

Makayla Marie
Ok

Sigyn Wisch
Me: Loki, did Cody call?
actually, do I have any missed calls from Friday?
Loki: Nope

Makayla Marie
I'll talk to Cody but I saw him call you

Sigyn Wisch
Te><ting would work better
My phone is notoriously bad at actually logging my voicemails.
Just asked Loki to check the voicemails. He says there's nothing there

10:01pm
Makayla Marie
I'll talk to him in the morning

Sigyn Wisch

Alright.

I get a bit aggressive about it the next day and...


September 1
12:23pm
Sigyn Wisch
Call log says I missed a 406, a 408, and a 728, all on Thursday. There was a 213 and a 331 yesterday. Which one is Cody?

Makayla Marie
I think he called on 213 I'll check

8:01pm
Sigyn Wisch
You never got back to me

Makayla Marie
I'm sorry I was in a thing

Sigyn Wisch
That's okay. My buddy Leon said if Cody was real, We'd already be at the farm by now. It's okay, I know you were just trying to help me feel better, so I'm not mad that you made him up.

Makayla Marie
I didnt
And if you think I'm lying then clearly you never played attention all this time
Not a farm a ranch and I am very offended and hurt right now


Sep 1 You missed a call from Makayla.

SEPTEMBER 1, 2015
9.20 PM

CODY
It’s Cody I’m on my iPhone. Why did you rattle Kaylee? I’m not ok with you calling her a lier. She didn’t respond because she was working on the truck with me.
Hello
I’d like for y’all to respond

JADEN, 9.30 PM
Hi Cody this is jaden I have the phone because the happy couple are having quiet time what’s a lier is that anything like a liar

CODY
Sorry I didn’t pass grammar class. I’d appreciate you giving them the phone. I had the final arrangements for picking them up for work

JADEN
I accept your apology, but technically it’s for spelling not grammar. here’s the deal, technically she didn’t call anyone a liar she just said L E O N said you’re a sock puppet, and you can’t pull that “I want you to respond” stuff when you’re not even responding. Leon thinks this whole thing is a scam to try to get money from the Wisches for Makayla because it’s really weird and unprofessional that you talked with them about her personal problems.
If you really do have arrangements better make em quick because last I heard they’re leaving town in the morning can’t afford to stay another night

CODY
Well I’m trying to make plans to go get them. I only talked to them about it because she knows them she if like my daughter she wont accept my help because of pride he can call scam all he wants but y’all don’t call me a liar or fake I’m a vet and a redneck have sigyn reply when she’s done ok?

JADEN
Lol wow a vet and a redneck so hardcore. Rednecks are funny to watch and I guess they’re funny to talk to, too but I’m not drunk enough to deal with this so bye Felicia

CODY
Who’s Felicia

ME, 9.57 PM
Wow, that was so not cool. I am so sorry, Cody, for the misunderstanding and for Jaden. Thing is, stuff like that, people making up other people to mess with me, that’s happened before so I tend to take it seriously when my friends have a bad feeling. But I should have been more patient and I apologise.

CODY, 10.00 PM
Who’s Felicia
I was going to get y’all sooner but I had to get Kaylee
Well that was disrespectful to Kaylee and me I have no respect for that type of behavior
Kaylee is crying because of that guy and what you said

ME
Well, I apologized for the misunderstanding, but you truly can’t blame me for having been tricked in the past and being more cautious now.
I would have appreciated it greatly if you had kept in contact and let us know what was going on. We literally can’t stay in this town past tomorrow.

CODY
Well I was caught up in work trying to fix the street truck because I didn’t want to drive a diesel to sj Bryant’s to much money
That’s

ME
Alrighty. So what did you have in mind?

CODY
I am just about done with the cummins and I’d be bringing Kaylee to come get y’all

ME
Okay, so what did you have in mind?
(10.33 PM) Well, if you’re planning to come by tomorrow, please do let us know. Otherwise, we’ve got to get going. We’ll probably still be in the state for a week or so, but we can’t stay in this town.
Nighty night then, old chap. Cheers.

CODY
I was planning on coming up in the cummins
Late reply my cell phone updated

Meanwhile, in the conversation with Makayla...

September 1
12:23pm
Sigyn Wisch
Call log says I missed a 406, a 408, and a 728, all on Thursday. There was a 213 and a 331 yesterday. Which one is Cody?

Makayla Marie
I think he called on 213 I'll check

8:01pm
Sigyn Wisch
You never got back to me

Makayla Marie
I'm sorry I was in a thing

Sigyn Wisch
That's okay. My buddy Leon said if Cody was real, We'd already be at the farm by now. It's okay, I know you were just trying to help me feel better, so I'm not mad that you made him up.

Makayla Marie
I didnt
And if you think I'm lying then clearly you never played attention all this time
Not a farm a ranch and I am very offended and hurt right now

Sep 1 You missed a call from Makayla.

9/1, 10:00pm
Sigyn Wisch
I'm sorry, that was Leon's mistake and I'm pretty quick to believe him because reasons.
By the way, your other friend Kodi, who died last year, apparently came back to life earlier this year. Thought you'd want to know.

Makayla Marie
I found out she faked her death to get out of paying back someone I don't deal with her
I found out and called the cops on her

Sigyn Wisch
Oh, okay, that makes about as much sense as what I was thinking which was that someone got at her account.
Look, I'm real sorry about the Cody thing. He seems pretty t'd off

Makayla Marie
He's just hurt as am I
I just don't deal with a lot especially not at this second

Sigyn Wisch
Well, can you maybe try to see my side of things too? I've been screwed over by people I thought were trying to help me who turned out to not exist. I have the right to be cautious

Makayla Marie
I know I don't blame you

Sigyn Wisch
*nods* Well, I didn't mean to hurt anyone. I just don't want to risk Loki's life, you know, we can't just wait around here. We literally have to leave tomorrow.

Makayla Marie

I understand and I'm talking to cody